Mercosur official and Uruguayan Foreign Minister Luis Almagro has released a statement advising that Paraguay will hold the rotating Mercosur Presidency in the first half of 2014 following Venezuela’s reign for the rest of the year. Mercosur has announced that Paraguay will be re-inducted as a full Mercosur member this upcoming August 15, once Paraguayan President-elect Horacio Cartes is inaugurated into his office. The decision was made during the Montevideo summit earlier this month where three of the full member presidents – Cristina Fernandez, Dilma Rouseff and Jose Mujica – decided to lift the ban on Paraguay. (July 16, 2013 MercoPress)